Skip to main content

El Paso Voters Elect New Mayor in Saturday Runoff

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Businessman Oscar Leeser has been elected to serve as the next mayor for El Paso.

On Saturday, voters in El Paso ousted incumbent Mayor Dee Margo to elect Hyundai dealership president and former mayor Oscar Lesser to lead the city. According to unofficial results, Leeser pulled in almost 80 percent of the vote to Margo’s 20 percent. Lesser swept every precinct in the city, with the exception of one — Precinct 189 reported only one vote, which went for Margo.

Following the victory, the newly elected mayor said he was excited about the result.

“It’s an exciting night for El Paso, 80% of the voters voted for a change and I’m so excited,” Lesser told KVIA-TV in El Paso.

In addition to electing Leeser, voters in El Paso also re-elected Precinct 2 City Council member Alexsandra Annello and ousted incumbent Sam Morgan in Precinct 4. Taking Morgan’s seat will be Joe Molinar.

Lone Star Voice relies on your donations to bring you important updates.
Please click >>DONATE<< to help us continue!

Lone Star Voice is a non-profit educational publication, pursuant to IRS 501(c)(3). Donations are tax-deductible.

Related News

Texas Voters to Decide Over $12.7 Billion in Bonds Across the State This November

When Texas voters head to the polls on November 3, it won't just be President...

COVID Shutdown Causes Medical Center Hospital to Adopt Higher Tax Rate

Reeling from unprecedented financial losses due to the economic shutdown and mandates imposed by Texas...

How Texans Voted on the Ten Largest Bonds of the 2020 General Election

As we reported last month, voters decided on bond packages totaling over $12.7 billion on...

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *