Skip to main content

The State of Texas has a constitutional republican form of government, fashioned after the United States Constitution.

As such, our laws are written by an elected Legislature, interpreted by an elected Judiciary, and enforced by an elected Executive.

Click on each item to learn more:

State Buildings


Austin, TX Capital

Bicameral State Government

31 Senators

150 State Representatives

28th State to be admitted to the Union


1100 Conress Ave, Austin, TX

Completed in 1888 contains the offices and chambers of the Texas Legislature and the Office of the Governor.


1201 Brazos St, Austin, TX

Preserves the records of government and makes accessible historically significant records and other valuable resources.